GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

OK, Dumb Newb ?

Started by conkris, February 18, 2011, 08:18:44 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

conkris

I am new to handhelds, (Garmin Vista HCX) and this forum, so I'll start with a dumb ? And yes, I tried the search feature.
I use my GPS for snowmobiling, especially TracBack feature...works great, but of course the Base Map sucks, so I installed on a 2 GB Card, the free NY State topo map (not all of it) found here at GPS file depot...thanks to the author, it rocks.
I then found a free NY State snowmobile Trail Map (overlay) map. Downloaded it (appears in Mapsource)
I removed/deleted the original NY Topo map from the card, using my card reader, then using Mapsource selected the appropriate "tiles" for the topo map (39MBs) and the snowmobile map...Named the "map" (41ish Mbs) and installed it on the card...tah dah...I now have the topo with the overlay, as I should, but wait there's more...I can turn off, "hide" the map, and of course I now have the crapola Base Map.

Here's what I would like.

The ability to have the NYS topo map with the snowmobile overlay (which I have) or just the NYS  topo map, in other words be able to turn off/ hide just the Snowmobile overlay leaving the topo map (not the Garmin Base Map)..because in some areas as a result of the number of trails, the topo features are obsquered.

Can I install the topo map tiles as one file, ( Name it topo) on the card.... then add the snomobile overlay as a separate file, Name it Snowo) thus making them both avilable as hide/show??? I read that a second map will overwrite the 1st installed map, but is the overlay considered a map. Or will they both show in "map selection"

Thanks in advance
Tony

maps4gps

Your GPSr can only use a single gmapsupp.img file.
This file can have more than one mapset in it.  You are limited to a total of 2025 quads/segments.