GPSFileDepot.com

Total Newb here - Help with kmz to Garmin Colorado viewing

Started by Richstick, December 03, 2010, 07:09:00 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Richstick

Hi all - first off, thank you so much for this forum and the wealth of info contained herein!

I'm a newb to the Garmin way of doing things, and not very versed in GPS/GIS/GE language in general.  I probably know enough at this point to be dangerous  :) 

Anyways - I have a friend who has compiled a massive amount of information on area lakes for fishing purposes.  I have .gpx files of various features on the lake bottom, boulders, logs, brushpiles, etc.  Obviously I could just view them on the GPS as individual waypoints, but I was hoping to make each 'feature' a layer (if you will) that I could turn on and off easily.  I thought the best way to do this would be to view each .gpx file in GE and save it as a KMZ/KML then put it into my Garmin\CustomMaps directory on my GPSr (Colorado 400t).  Then, if I wanted to view the boulder waypoints, I could turn on that map.  If I wanted to view the brushpiles, I could turn on that map...  I figure with my Colorado's ability to zoom to 20 feet, I don't need to actually be able to navigate to a waypoint - be able to view it on screen will be close enough.

Well - it's not working.  I did a trial with the boulder waypoints, here's what I did....

1) Opened GPX file in GE, saved a KMZ named Boulders1
2) Moved this file to Garmin\CustomMaps on my GPSr
3) Went to map page, tried to turn this map on, and it is not there - not even listed.  I do have a custom map I made from a JPEG for a totally different lake (using the simple instructions Garmin has for custom maps from a JPEG), and that works great - so I think my directory structure is correct.
4) If I fire up Basecamp, it gives me an error reading the Boulders1 file
5) I also tried it using another software - GPSVisualizer (online version), and the same result