GPSFileDepot.com

News:

Welcome to GPSFileDepot!

Main Menu

Maps vanishing with new installs?

Started by Staccat0, June 09, 2010, 05:38:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Staccat0

I'm new at this, so please bear with me.

I downloaded a topo map and trail map just fine and installed them with mapsource on my Nuvi 255w just fine... or so I thought.

Unfortunately each time I download one, the other vanishes...
Whats going on here?
I read the tutorials but they are pretty bare bones...

Boyd

That's the way mapsource works. It creates a file named gmapsupp.img which you will find in the \Garmin folder on your GPS. Each time you send a new map to the GPS, it replaces the existing gmapsupp.img file.

You can have a second map file on a memory card in your Nuvi, and mapsource will let you choose the memory card as a destination.

If you need more maps at the same time, the trick is to use mapsource to select all the portions of the different maps you need. Choose the first map, select the parts you want, then use either the dropdown map menu or "switch to product" menu to choose the next map, select the parts you want of it and repeat as needed.

You will see a list of all the map tiles you have selected in the left-hand pane. When you send these to the GPS, you will have all the maps combined in a single file, and can press Menu > Tools > Settings > Map > Map Info to select the one that you want to display.

maps4gps

You must send all the data to the GPSr at one time.  In MapSource select what you want from one mapset; then select from a second mapset; etc.; only then do you send the data to the GPSr.  Any gmapsupp.img on the GPSr will be overwriten.  The GPSr only recognizes one gmapsupp.img file.  This file needs to be recreated each time you want to add (or remove) any map data from it.
FYI - that is step 8 in http://www.gpsfiledepot.com/tutorials/how-to-load-maps-on-my-garmin-gps-unit/

Boyd