GPSFileDepot.com

Mac Basecamp and downloading GPSFile Depot Topo Maps to my 60csx

Started by Big Jake, January 08, 2012, 05:03:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Big Jake

Gentlemen,

My first post on the site although I have been using the site for maps and info for 2 years.  Great site and very informative.

My issue is this...

I have a 60csx and was using Mapsource to download the state topo maps from this site to my GPS.  Everything worked great.

I just got a new Mac over the holidays - running OS Lion.

I downloaded Basecamp and Map Manager and Mapinstaller.  So far so good.

I downloaded several of the state topo maps in Mac format as a test.

The downloads worked and when I clicked on the GMPi files they were automatically loaded into Basecamp.  Again, so far so good.

My problem is now trying to get those maps to download to my 60csx. 

Basecamp is recognizing my unit with the 10 digit unit number.

Mapinstaller does seem to recognize my GPS has well.

But I cannot seem to figure out the right way to get maps from either Basecamp or from Map Manager to download to my 60.  And I have not been able to find a Mapinstaller or Map Manager tutorial?

Using the old Mapsource, I could "highlight" sections of my map and download those.  I cannot even figure out how to "highlight" sections or the entire map in Basecamp.

I also do not understand the "sequence" of he programs using the Mac software.  Do I go directly to Map Manager in my application file first or do I go to Basecamp first and then open Map Manager and then open Mapinstaller?

There must be some simply trick I am missing since I can get the maps into Basecamp with no problem but just can't get them to my 60.  :o

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thank you

Indrid Cold

Maps don't go into the GPSMAP60CSx, they go On the datacard.

Put the gps in USB mode and you will get the card to mount.

You only need BaseCamp now, the other .apls are included in the package.