Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length
Forums Search:  


Author Topic: Garman Basecamp problems  (Read 1245 times)

danderson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Garman Basecamp problems
« on: September 21, 2013, 07:12:07 PM »
I purchased a e-trex 30 earlier in the year and managed to load maps through garman basecamp just fine after what seemed like weeks of trying, I just picked up 2 older Rinos and for some reason  basecamp keeps saying no device is connected, what am I doing wrong.

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 835
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Garmin Basecamp problems
« Reply #1 on: September 21, 2013, 07:49:16 PM »
Older Rinos might require MapSource on Windows. What model Rinos and what computer OS are you using?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2013, 07:50:48 PM by Indrid Cold »

danderson

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 11
  • Karma: 0
    • View Profile
Re: Garman Basecamp problems
« Reply #2 on: September 21, 2013, 08:23:05 PM »
The Rinos are 120 and the os is a windows PC
I also am not able to communicate to base camp with my e-trex 30, it worked great before, I managed to load multiple trips on base camp, now all I get is no device connected ?
« Last Edit: September 21, 2013, 08:27:24 PM by danderson »

Indrid Cold

  • Moderator
  • Expert Advisor
  • *****
  • Posts: 835
  • Karma: 19
    • View Profile
Re: Garmin Basecamp problems
« Reply #3 on: September 21, 2013, 09:56:57 PM »
The Rino 120s have serial RS-232 interface and do not work with BaseCamp, they come with a MapSource CD-ROM that will communicate with them.

If you don't have a CD-ROM laying around, you can download it directly from Garmin here:
http://www8.garmin.com/software/MapSource_6163.exe
« Last Edit: September 22, 2013, 01:56:35 AM by Indrid Cold »

 

anything